If you have been arrested for DWI in New Jersey you should seek legal advice immediately. New Jersey is very tough on those people who are arrested for drunk driving. New Jersey imposes mandatory license suspensions from 3 months to 10 years as well as high fines and fees for those convicted of drunk driving. The fines and penalties are bases on your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) and New Jersey uses two levels, above 0.08% but less than 0.10% and those higher than 0.10%.
For 1st time offenders you can expect a loss of driving privileges for 3 months (for low BAC) to 7 months (high BAC), 12 hours to 30 days in jail, mandatory alcohol classes, court fines, surcharges of $1,000.00/year for three years, possible ignition interlock, and more. The penalties and fines go up steeply for 2nd and 3rd time offenders.
New Jersey does not offer a diversionary program for DWI so your best defense may be a good offense. Were you legally stopped? Did the police have “probable cause” to pull you over? Were any statements you gave admissible against you? Were the field, breath and blood testing done correctly? Were you even driving the car and can the police prove that you were? You need an attorney who can challenge the arrest, the field sobriety test, blood tests and other actions of the police before, during and after the incident.