In New Jersey, it is illegal to possess or distribute drugs. Penalties may include jail time, loss of license as well as significant fines.
If you are a first time offender for marijuana possession (or related offenses) where the amount is less than 50 grams, you may be eligible for a conditional discharge.
In addition to being a first drug offense, you must not have previously participated in a diversionary program such as PTI (see below) or a previous Conditional Discharge. When deciding whether or not to offer a diversionary program to you the Judge will consider whether it is in the interest of the community for you to be offered one of these programs.
If you are accepted into a Conditional Discharge Program all legal proceedings will be stopped while you are in the program. If you complete the program all charges will be dismissed. However you will have to follow all the rules of the program and have no additional charges brought against you while you are in the program. The New Jersey Conditional Discharge programs typically last between 6 months to 2 years.